COMMITTEES

The NWI Forum offers it membership a voice on various committees that report up to our Managing Board to create policy, initiatives and areas of focus for economic development.
Economic Development and Environmental Committees meet monthly.  The others meet as needed.

 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

  • Economic Development
    • Each month local economic development leaders from the seven counties meet to discuss current regional economic development and work towards creating and retaining quality jobs in Northwest Indiana. 
    • Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each Month at 10:00am
    • For more information, contact Joe Rurode, Director of Economic Development, jrurode@nwiforum.org

 

ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

  • Environmental Affairs 
    • The purpose of the Environmental Committee is to represent the interests of the Northwest Indiana Forum membership on environmental issues affecting the quality of life and business climate in Northwest Indiana.
    • Meetings are held on the first Thursday of each Month at 7:30am.
    • For more information, contact Kay Nelson, Director of Environmental Affairs, knelson@nwiforum.org
 

REGIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PLAN COMMITTEE

    • The purpose of the Regional Economic Development Plan Committee is to work alongside TIP Strategies in crafting the economic development playbook for the Northwest Indiana region.
    • For more information, contact Heather Ennis, President & CEO, hennis@nwiforum.org

PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

  • To create the legislative agenda for policies that actively advocate for concepts, ideas, laws and regulations this will benefit businesses and their employees in harmony with the environment and the overall quality of life in the region.
  • For more information, contact Kay Nelson, Director of Environmental Affairs, knelson@nwiforum.org
 

AUDIT COMMITTEE

  • Assist it in monitoring and overseeing (1) the accounting and financial reporting processes of the Forum and Foundation audits of the financial statements and the integrity of the financial statements.  To ensure the Forum and Foundation’s compliance with legal and regulatory requirements within the performance of our internal finances along and accounting personnel and its independent auditors.
  • For more information, contact Raeann Trakas, Director of Marketing & Communications, rtrakas@nwiforum.org

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

  • Responsibilities are to determine the membership of your board and measure the quality of performance of the board as a whole and of your individual board members, update by-laws and policies
  • For more information, contact Raeann Trakas, Director of Marketing & Communications, rtrakas@nwiforum.org
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FCL Builders

Hasse Construction Company

Larson-Danielson Construction

Ozinga Ready Mix Concrete Indiana 

 

Reith-Riley Construction 

Superior Construction

Tonn & Blank Construction 

Walsh & Kelly, Inc

 

Policy Analytics, llc

Mr. Bill Sheldrake | President
Research and Development
1 N Pennsylvanis
Suite 530
Indianapolis, IN 46204
P | (317) 860-0785
www.policyanalyticsllc.com

 

Ron Bush Consulting

Mr. Ron Bush
Commercial
460 Lincolnway, Box 111
Valparaiso, IN 46385
P | (219) 728-4607
ron@ronbushconsulting.com

RQAW Consulting Engineers & Architects

SEH Inc.

Kerry Keith
Commercial
9200 Calumet Avenue
Munster, IN 46321
P: 219 513-2516
www.sehinc.com
kkeith@sehinc.com

 

 

City of Gary EDC

City of Hobart Economic Development 

Duneland Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Maura Durham
Economic Development
220 Broadway
Chesterton, IN 46304
P | (219) 926-5513
www.dunelandchamber.org
mdurham@dunelandchamber.org

 

 

DEDC Town of Burns Harbor 

DEDC Duneland Econ Dev Corp

 

DEDC Town of Chesterton

DEDC Town of Porter

 

Jasper County Economic Development Org

Mr. Kevin B Kelly
Economic Development
223 W Kellner Boulevard
Rensselaer, IN 47978
P | (219) 866-3080
www.jaspercountyin.com
kevin@jaspercountyin.com

 

 

Indiana Economic Development Corp.

Mr. Matt Saltanovitz
Economic Development
9800 Connecticut Dr.
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 644-3694
www.iedc.in.gov

 

 
 

Northwest Indiana SBDC

Ms. Lorri Feldt
Non-Profit
9800 Connecticut Drive
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 644-3515
lfeldt@isbdc.org

 

Economic Development Corp-Michigan City

Clarence Hulse
Economic Development
Two Cadence Park Plaza
Michigan City, IN 46360
P | (219) 873-1211
chulse@edcmc.com

 

City of Hammond Economic Development

Africa Tarver | Director of Economic Development
Economic Development
649 Conkey St.
Hammond, IN 46324
P | (219) 853-6508
atarver@gohammond.com

 

Lake County Economic Alliance

Karen Lauerman | President/CEO
Economic Development
9101 Taft Street
Merrillville, IN 46410
P | (219) 756-4317
klauerman@lcea.us

Pulaski County Economic Development

Nathan P. Origer | Executive Director
Economic Development
623 W. 11th Street
Winamac, IN 46996
P | (574) 346-3869
nporiger@pulaskionline.org

 

Falk PLI Engineering

Mr. Mike Falk
Engineering
5979 McCasland Ave.
Portage, IN 46368
P | (219) 762-7024
www.falk-pli.com

G.W. Berkheimer Co., Inc.

Mr. Brian D Cobble
Commercial
6000 Southport Road
Portage, IN 46368
P | (219) 764-5200
F | (219) 764-5203

AT&T

Mr. Richard Leverett | Director, External Affairs
Technology
302 S. East Street
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 663-0211
www.att.com
richard.leverett@att.com

Doherty Images, LLC

Mr. Pete Doherty
Photography
P | (219) 670-2092
pete@dohertyimages.com

 

 

Don Powers Agency, Inc.

Ms. Donna Williamson
Insurance
911 Ridge Road
Munster, IN 46321
P | (219) 836-8900
www.donpowersagency.com

ISM Security Services

David Pack | President
Insurance
905 W Glen Park
Griffith, IN 46319
P | (219) 924-7775
www.titan-security.com

Indiana Beverage

Mr. George Douglass
TDL
2850 Barley Road
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 476-1130
www.indianabev.com

 

 

Berkshire Hathaway Executive Group

Larry Hitz | Broker/Owner
Real Estate
2612 N. Calumet Avenue
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 464-8521
Lhitz@pruexec.com

Family Express

Gus Olympidis | President/CEO
213 South State Road 49
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 462-0144
go@familyexpress.com

Valparaiso University

Mark Heckler | President
Education
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 464-5115
F | (219) 464-5381
mark.heckler@valpo.edu

 

Indiana University Northwest

Chancellor William Lowe
Education
3400 Broadway
Gary, IN 46408
P | (219) 980-6700
www.iun.edu

 

Indiana University School Of Medicine

Dr. Patrick Bankston
Education
3400 Broadway
Gary, IN 46408
P | (219) 980-6550
www.iun.edu

 

IVY Tech Community College

Dr. Thomas Coley | Chancellor
Education
1440 E 35th Avenue
Gary, IN 46408
P | (219) 981-1111
www.ivytech.edu

 

Purdue University Northwest

Thomas Keon  | Chancellor
2200 -169th Street
Hammond, IN 46323
P | (219) 989-2400
www.pnw.edu

 

BCA Consultants

Mr. Bruce Carter
Environmental
616 S. 4th Street
Elkhart, IN 46516
P | (574) 522-1019
F | (574) 522-0374
bcarter@bcaconsultants.com

Ramboll ENVIRON

Ms. Robin Richards | REM Principal
Environmental
4350 N. Fairfax Drive
Suite 300
Arlington, VA 22203
P | (703) 516-2431
rrichards@ramboll.com

 

Environmental Process Technologies

Mr. Patrick Gorman | President
Environmental
9305 Calumet Avenue
Suite F 1
Munster, IN 46321
P | (219) 836-1000
pmg@jorsm.com

Microbac Laboratories Inc.

Mr. Robert Crookston
Environmental
250 West 84th Drive
Merrillville, IN 46410
P | (219) 769-8378
www.microbac.com

 

 

Metro Recycling 

Neil Samahon | CEO
Recycling
1501 E. Main Street
Griffith, IN 46319
P | (219) 922-1830
neil.samahon@metrorecycling.net

 

Regional Development Company

Erica Dombey | President
Finance
1757 Thornapple Circle
Valparaiso, IN 46385
P | (219) 476-0504
erica@rdc504.org

Fifth Third Bank

Mr. Mitch Gaffigan
Finance
1000 E. 80th Place
Merrillville, IN 46410
P | (219) 660-4606
F | (219) 660-4838
www.53.com

First Midwest Bank

Helen Pennington
Finance
10322 Indianapolis Blvd
Highland, IN 46322
P | (219) 853-3513
helen.pennington@firstmidwest.com

Peoples Bank

Mr. John Diederich
Finance
9204 Columbia Avenue
Munster, IN 46321
P | (219) 853-7575
www.bankpeoples.com JDiederich@ibankpeoples.com

 

 

First Financial Bank

Michael Schneider
Finance
450 W Lincoln Highway
Schererville, IN 46375
www.bankatfirst.com

 

Centier Bank

Michael Schrage
Finance
600 E 84th Avenue
Merrillville, IN 46410
P | (219) 755-4660
mschrage@centier.com

 

City of Crown Point

Mayor Dave Uran
Governmental Units
101 N. East Street
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 662-3240
F | (219) 662-3262
mayor@crownpoint.in.gov

 

 

City of Hobart

Mayor Brian Snedecor
Governmental Units
414 Main Street
Hobart, IN 46342
P | (219) 942-6112
mayorsnedecor@cityofhobart.org

 City of LaPorte (GLEDC)

Mayor Blair Milo
Governmental Units
City Hall
801 Michigan Avenue
LaPorte, IN 46350
P | (219) 362-8220
F | (219) 362-1102
bmilo@cityoflaporte.com

 

City of Michigan City

Mayor Ron Meer
Governmental Units
100 E. Michigan Blvd.
Michigan City, IN 46360
P | (219) 873-1400
mayormeer@emichigancity.com

 

City of Portage

Mayor James Snyder
Governmental Units
6070 Central Avenue
Portage, IN 46368
P | (219) 762-5425
F | (219) 762-1484
jsnyder@portage-in.com

 

 

City of Valparaiso

Mayor Jon Costas
Governmental Units
166 Lincolnway
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 462-1161
F | (219) 464-4273
mayorcostas@valpo.us

 

Town of Chesterton/Porter/Burns Harbor

Mr. Bernard Doyle
Government Units
726 Broadway
Chesterton, IN 46304
P | (219) 926-1098

Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission

Mr. Ty Warner | Executive Director
Governmental Units
6100 Southport Road
Portage, IN 46368
P | (219) 763-6060
www.nirpc.org

NWI RDA

Mr. Bill Hanna | Executive Director
9800 Connecticut Drive
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 644-3500
www.rda.in.gov

 

KIRPC

Edwin Buswell | Executive Director
Economic Development
115 East 4th Street
Monon, IN 47959
P | (219) 253-6658
www.kirpc.net

 

 

LaPorte County Commissioners

David Decker | Commissioner
Government Units
555 Michigan Avenue, Suite 202
LaPorte, IN 46350
P | (219) 326-6808
ddecker3@laportecounty.org

Franciscan Alliance

Ms. Barbara Anderson
Healthcare
1201 S Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46307
P | (219) 738-2100 barbara.anderson@franciscanalliance.org

 

Edgewater Systems For Balanced Living

Ms. Danita Johnson-Hughes
Healthcare
1100 W. 6th Avenue
Gary, IN 46402
P | (219) 885-4264
danitahughes@edgewatersystems.org

 

 

Methodist Hospital

Mr. Raymond Grady | President
Healthcare
600 Grant Street
Gary, IN 46402
P | (219) 886-4432
www.methodisthospitals.org

 

Porter Starke Services

Mr. Rocco Schiralli | CEO
Healthcare
601 Wall Street
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 476-4501
www.porterstarke.org

 

Center of Workforce Innovations

Ms. Linda Woloshansky
Labor
2804 Boilermaker Ct.
Ste. E
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 462-2940
F | (219) 465-6860
lwolo@innovativeworkforce.com

 

Construction Advancement Foundation

Mr. Dewey Pearman
Labor
6050 Southport Road
Portage, IN 46368
P | (219) 764-2883
dewey@cafnwin.org

 

 

NWI Building & Construction Trades Council

Mr. Randy Palmateer
Labor/Trade Association
550 Superior Avenue, Suite B
Munster, IN 46321
P | (219) 924-5100
www.NWIbuildingtrades.com

Hoeppner, Wagner & Evans

Mr. James Jorgenson
Legal Services
103 E. Lincolnway
Valparaiso, IN 46384
P | (219) 464-4961
www.hwelaw.com

 

Church Church Hittle & Antrim

 

ArcelorMittal USA

Mr. John Mengel | VP/GM Office
Manufacturing
250 W. U.S. Highway 12
Burns Harbor, IN, 46304
P | (219) 787-3270
www.arcelormittal.com

 

 

 

BP Oil Company

Mr. Tom Keilman | Director, Government & Public Affairs
Manufacturing
2815 Indianapolis Blvd.
Whiting, IN 46394
P | (219) 473-5465
F | (219) 473-3722
www.bp.com
thomas.keilman@bp.com

 

Cargill, Inc

Mr. Mike Golando
Environmental Management
Manufacturing
1100 Indianapolis Boulevard
Hammond, IN 46320
P | (219) 473-5831
www.cargill.com

 

Task Force Tips

Mr. Stewart McMillan
Manufacturing
3701 Innovation Way
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 548-1022
www.tft.com

 

 

Lake Area United Way

Ms. Lisa Daugherty | President & CEO
Non-Profit Organization
221 W. Ridge Road
Griffith, IN 46319
P | (219) 923-2302
ldaugherty@lauw.org

 

Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Rex Richards | President
Non-Profit
162 Lincolnway
Valparaiso, IN 46383
P | (219) 462-1105
www.valparaisochamber.org rex@valpochamber.org

 

South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority

Mr. Spero Batistatos
Tourism and Hospitality
7770 Corinne Avenue
Hammond, IN 46323
P | (219) 989-7770
F | 219 989-7774
www.sscva.org

Horseshoe Casino Hammond

Mr. Dan Nita | Senior VP & General Manager
Tourism/Hospitality
777 Casino Center Drive
Hammond, IN 46320
P | (219) 473-6000
dnita@horseshoe.com

 

Chicago Southshore & Southbend Railroad

Mr. Andrew Fox | President
Transportation
505 North Carroll Avenue
Michigan City, IN 46360
P | (219) 874-9000
www.southshorefreight.com

 

NIPSCO

Mr. Don Babcock
Utility
801 E. 86th Ave.
Merrillville, IN 46410
P | (219) 647-4975
DlBabcock@NISource.com

 

Indiana American Water

Mr. Dave Ryan
Utility
P.O. Box 64486
Gary, IN 46401
P | (219) 880-2367
www.amwater.com

 

NITCO

Thomas Long
Technology
205 North Washington
Hebron, IN 46341
P | (219) 996-2981 ext. 202
tlong@nitco.com